Biden Grants Winter Ice Storm Help To 13 Texas Counties

President Joe Biden declared a disaster in 13 Texas counties on Saturday. This means that places damaged by last winter’s ice storms can now get help from the federal government.

The White House said that state and local governments, as well as some nonprofits, will be able to get disaster help “on a cost-sharing basis” to fix and replace damaged buildings and do other emergency work.

Abbott Had Asked For A Disaster Declaration For 23 Counties

Gov. Greg Abbott had asked for a disaster declaration for 23 counties. He thanked Vice President Joe Biden for making the statement, calling it “an important first step” to help Texans regain their feet after the bad weather. You see that The Overnight Cold Front Will Bring Storms To North Texas.

Travis County, home to the state capital, and the nearby counties of Bastrop, Blanco, Burleson, Burnet, Hays, Lee, Milam, and Williamson were all named disaster areas on Saturday. Also included were the counties of Henderson, which is southeast of Dallas, Kendall, which is south of Fredericksburg, Leon, and Robertson, east of Waco.

Biden Grants Winter Ice Storm Help To 13 Texas Counties

The White House said there would also be money for Texans to take steps to reduce the risk of natural disasters. More disaster aid will be available if Texas asks for it and if future damage reports show a need.

Storms in late January and early February left a harmful layer of ice over a large part of Texas. More than 300,000 people lost power across the state, but the area around Austin was hit the hardest. You also check Hail Falls From Severe Storms In Some Areas Of North Texas.

In a letter to Vice President Biden in February, Governor Greg Abbott asked for government help for 23 counties, including the 13 counties that were affected by Saturday’s order. Biden’s statement did not include Caldwell, Delta, Denton, Falls, Hopkins, Hunt, Lamar, Red River, Shelby, and Smith counties.

Abbott said Saturday that he told the Texas Division of Emergency Management to ensure that other affected counties that meet damage standards will be added to the disaster declaration.

About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top